The Allusionist

Linguistic adventures with Helen Zaltzman for Radiotopia from PRX.

15. Step Away No ratings yet.

    Episode Description:

    ‘Step-‘, as in stepparents or stepchildren, originated in grief. Family structures have evolved, but are stepmothers now so tainted by fairytale associations with the word ‘wicked’ that we need new terminology?

    Lore’s Aaron Mahnke stops by to describe the lovelessness, literary tropes and life expectancy around ‘step-‘.

    There is more about this episode at There will also be a live discussion about it at on 4th August, 8pm UK time, 3pm ET, 12pm PT; do drop by, and/or catch up afterwards.

    Share your feelings about steprelations at and

    The Allusionist is a proud member of for

    Rate this episode:

    No ratings yet.